The Enlightenment of Katzuo Nakamatsu by Augusto Higa Oshiro

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

What to say, what to say?

I follow a blog called roughghosts and in a cosmic coincidence, they posted about this book on June 15th. I bought a copy of The Enlightenment on June 1st. Along with about four other Archipelago titles (I have an addiction to their square format, I need help!)

It made me totally thrilled to learn that this blog I respect quite a lot had posted about a book I’d independently selected – it is like your university English lecturer saying you have good taste in books!

So I obviously had to try to ignore the post, read the book and then read the post to see if I was smart enough to ‘get’ the book and if so how much – or should I just throw myself in the sea? We shall see.

I haven’t read a book that takes words and makes them so damn stunning, whilst simultaneously being one of the most depressing books I’ve read. Not in a long time. Not since Fernando Pessoa’s The Book of Disquiet. And that tracks because they’re both poets. In places it was quite a triggering read for that reason because it really captures that hollow feeling at the core of being human.

I got a lot of biblical vibes with this one. The Nebuchadnezzar parallel. Maybe that’s just me. 

That coupled with the introduction of wildness, the madness of birds. I loved it. A really nice read. A little bleak, but I was in the mood for it. I think it could probably do with a more interesting plot overall, but this is more an experience read really.

I’m not writing an essay on the book, but I did get real suggestions of depth here that mean that I’ll probably revisit it again in future. I love finding books I can be sure will offer more with each read!


2 responses to “The Enlightenment of Katzuo Nakamatsu by Augusto Higa Oshiro”

  1. Thanks for the link and the good words. You know, I would never try to tell a reader how to “get” a book because I don’t think there is ever one way to read something. But hopefully I can help a reader find a way into a possible reading, especially with surreal little books like this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oh absolutely, I didn’t get that vibe really. Your posts are always very much focused on letting the qualities of the text sing and making it seem accessible to everyone. I’m just being silly.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started